Truevision TGA Bitmap

Name: Truevision TGA Bitmap

Version: 2.0

Description: The Truevision TGA File Format comprises 5 areas, each of which contains one or more fields of fixed or variable length. The 5 file areas are: (1) TGA File Header, (2) Image/Color Map Data, (3) Developer Area, (4) Extension Area and (5) TGA File Footer. The last 3 areas, the Developer Area, the Extension Area and the TGA File Footer are new to the file specification as of September, 1989. For this reason, images created with software written before September, 1989 will probably not contain these three fields.

Deprecated: false


PUID: fmt/402

sameAs : PRONOM:

Extension: tga

Magic: true

Container Magic: false

Binary Magic: true

Signature Priority Over:

See Also (e.g. Wikidata, Library of Congress):

Software that can read the format: